September 18, 2007

I dislike UPS.

I am expecting a package to be delivered.  Yesterday, I came home to find a note saying that UPS had stopped by, missed me and would return today between the hours of 2pm and 5pm.  I arrived home from work at 2pm only to find a note saying that they missed me and would return tomorrow at the same time.  I called the number on the back of the note and was connected with UPS’s automated voice system.  The recorded voice was one that immediately started grating on my nerves.  I navigated through it using voice commands and discovered that they had attempted to deliver my package at 1:52pm.  That’s great, so how much earlier than 2pm is reasonable for their delivery at 2pm?

I continued through the system trying to find the option to speak to an operator.  After a few minutes of failure, I started saying related words in an attempt to hit the random jackpot.  “Operator,” I’d say and hear the reply, “I’m sorry, I don’t understand.”  “Help” …”I’m sorry, I don-“; “Front desk” …”I’m sorr-“; “I HATE YOU”… “Thank you, you are now being transferred to a customer service representative.”

I’m not kidding.  Anyway, they’re redelivering my package at 5:45pm.  At least, that what they said…

Leave a Reply

