December 18, 2007

Mike Huckabee:

Ron Paul being a total jackass:

First off, RP says, “Hello, I’m in Des Moins, Iowa” and the news guy is like, “uhhh, thanks for telling me that Grandpa…”  RP says that Huckabee is using the cross as though “he is the only Christian” – I don’t quite understand how Huckabee putting out a Christmas message that actually focuses on Christ says to the world that he’s the only Christian.
In the Omaha/Council Bluffs area there is a car dealership called ‘Woodhouse‘ (really impressive website, I think it’s some guy’s name).  They’ve been running a commercial that says something to the effect of, “The Woodhouse family would like to wish all of you a blessed Christmas and to always keep God as the center of this holiday season.  It is important for us to always remember and be thankful for God the Father’s willingness to give us the greatest gift of all, Jesus Christ, His Son, so that we might be saved through His death and ressurection.  Merry Christmas from all of us at Woodhouse.”

Let me tell you, the first thing that went though my mind was how all the other car dealerships weren’t Christian.

It’s this terrible thing about spirituality and people – they’re uncomfortable expressing their spirituality and even more uncomfortable when other people express theirs own.  I had a conversation with a guy my freshman year at BC who was leaving the school because everybody put on an act of being holy and did a lot of “extra bowing” during mass.  I can only imagine that he’s talking about during the Profession of Faith and independantly during the Consecration.  Anyway, this bugged the heck out of him and he absolutely hated it.  Why he didn’t just let them be, I don’t know – he was convicted in some way.

I think this country could use a little conviction.

3 Responses to “”

  1. I think Mike Huckabee gives Christians a bad name.  He totally attacks the president, calling him “arrogant”, and has mounted several personal attacks against Romney and the others.  That’s not how Christians are supposed to treat each other.  His attitude is exactly why I have a negative view of Baptists.  He thinks he created Christianity, and that anyone who disagrees with his views should be sent to hell in a hand-basket.  {We get to ride in a hand-basket!?!}I don’t like him.

  2. boboman42 said

    It’s not that he thinks anyone who disagrees with him should be sent to hell in a hand-basket, he knows that anyone who disagrees with him will be sent to hell in a hand-basket.

  3. I object to people using Christ for commercial or political purposes. If Huck was not running for president, would he have put out his Christmas message?
    The car dealership is different, because I assume all of their ads do not tout their Christianity. To run their Christmas commercial seems like merely an act of good will.
    At least, that’s what I think….

Leave a Reply

